What should you do if you receive the message?
- The message only contains “New Voicemail” and a blue link. Don’t click on it.
- When you click on the link, you will be prompted to download an app. Do not do this under any circumstances. A virus will then be installed on your device that can access your personal information such as passwords, bank card details and your entire contact list. The virus uses your number to send messages to your contacts.
- Send a screenshot of the message to [email protected]. We will block links in the message.
- Delete the message.
How do you know if you have installed the application?
- A new app will appear among your other apps.
- You cannot uninstall this app.
What if I have already installed the app?
Don’t enter your password or sign in to an account before trying one of these solutions. Choose one of the two methods that seem easiest to you. Problems? Get help from someone who is helpful in dealing with smartphones.
Method 1: Reset your device to factory settings
- Turn on Airplane mode on your smartphone.
- Reset your device to factory settings. The process for doing this varies by device manufacturer. Note: If backups are not enabled, your data will be lost.
- Restore your data with your backup. Note: You must make a backup before installing the application and virus.
- You have to download your apps again from the App Store.
Method 2: Reboot your device in Safe Mode and uninstall the fake app
- Reboot or start the device and choose Safe Boot or Safe Reboot. The way to do this may vary from device to device. Sometimes you have to hold down the volume button simultaneously, for example. If necessary, find out how this works for your device (brand, type, version). See how to do this here.
- Your device is now in Safe Mode. You read this somewhere on the screen.
- Now go to “Settings”, “Applications”.
- Choose the fake app and uninstall this app. This is how you delete this app.
- Turn your device off again and restart it in normal mode.
What do you still have to do?
- Change all the passwords of your accounts that you can access with your smartphone.
- A text message may have been sent to all of your contacts in your name. Notify your contacts as soon as possible.
- If messages are sent to your contacts from your number, you may not notice them right away. When settling phone costs, you can see that huge messages have been sent. Contact the operator if you notice this on your bill. Only after removing the application, your number cannot be misused.
How do you protect yourself from future scams like this?
- Always think twice before clicking a link in a message. There is a good chance that in the near future you will receive more phishing and phishing emails on behalf of the alleged carrier or other companies.
- Activate the spam filter on your device, but be sure to choose a trusted system.
- Block suspicious channels.
- Install applications only from a standard application store (Google Play Store, App Store). If you get a message while installing an app that prevents installation or warns against security, do not proceed.
- For Android devices: Make sure Google Play Protect is turned on if your device supports it.
“Coffee buff. Twitter fanatic. Tv practitioner. Social media advocate. Pop culture ninja.”