Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

Champion maker Phyllis Matsu receives the Raymond Guthals Award |  Jupiler Pro League

Champion maker Phyllis Matsu receives the Raymond Guthals Award | Jupiler Pro League

The Raymond Gothals Trophy ends up in the Phyllis Matsu souvenir closet this year. The 55-year-old became a champion with Union in the Pro League 1B last season and topped the position in the Jupiler Pro League with the PhD student 20 days into the match.

Each year, the jury awards the award to the Belgian coach who best matches Raymond Gothals’ personality and way of working.

Phyllis Matsu was selected over Philippe Clement (Club Brugge) and Watter Franken (KV Mechelen).

This isn’t the first time Mazzu has received the award. In 2017, he was already honored as the coach of Charleroi.

Mazzu is de opvolger van OHL- coach of Marc Brys.

The Raymond Goethals Trophy winner is selected by a professional jury of former Red Devils, former Cup winners, referees and members of the Cup Organizing Committee.

‘Maybe the Federation will become a champion one day’

“It’s a tribute to important people in this sport,” the award winner said. “It makes me proud. If you are nominated with Philip Clement and Water Franken, it says a lot.”

Phyllis Matsu remained humble enough not to want to compare himself to Raymond Gothals. “Maybe at one point: the cigarette.”

“Mr. Goethals has a different career. I’d like to match his career, but I’d short the comparison.”

Perhaps he could become a champion with the Younger Federation? “Anything is possible in football.”

“Today that is not our goal, but to make progress with the club. But maybe one day we will become champions. This is a dream and you have to dream about it.”

Roll of Honor Trophy Raymond Gothals

2021: Phyllis Matsu (Union).

2020: Mark Press (Ohio Leuven)

2019: Philippe Clement (Club Brugge)

2018: Philip Clement (Racing Genk)

2017: Phyllis Matsu (Charleroi)

2016: Michel Preudome (Club Brugge)

2015: Hein Vanhaezebrouck (AA Ghent)

2014: Mark Wilmots (Red Devils national coach)

2013: Frankie Dory (Zolt Wargem)

2012: Peter Mays (Sporting Lucerne).

2011: Eric Gerets (Morocco coach).

Dominique Donofrio is for standard defender Hugo Sequet

At the ceremony, Hugo Squet received the Dominique D’Onofrio award, the Jupiler Pro League’s best newcomer award. Standard right-back was awarded the trophy by record icon Eric Gerets.

Nineteen-year-old Secket was one of Standard’s few bright spots in 2021. The defender, a youth producer from the Roche family, made his official debut for Standard on November 5, 2020. He quickly established himself as a key player and meanwhile made 43 Official Roche team duel, 17 of them this season.

His good performance also did not go unnoticed outside. Three weeks ago, Standard announced that Sequet would play in the Bundesliga for Freiburg from January 1. The German top-flight team would have paid around five million euros for the international promise.

The Dominique D’Onofrio Award was awarded for the third time as part of the Raymond Goethals Award. Previous winners were Jari Verchatterin (Anderlecht) and Charles de Kittelari (Club Brugge).

See also  Red Bull deeply disappointed by Sky Sports TV ad crashing Max Verstappen