Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

KNAW elects 23 new members to the Academy

KNAW elects 23 new members to the Academy

The Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has elected twenty-three new members, of whom three are foreign. Academy members, and top scientists from all disciplines, are selected on the basis of their scholarly achievements. The KNAW has approximately five hundred and fifty members. Membership is for life. New Academy members will be installed on Monday, September 13th. This was reported by KNAW.

New members

  • Thomas Buck (1963): Professor of Evolutionary Computation, Leiden University
  • Gerard van den Berg (1962): Professor of Health Econometrics, University of Groningen and UMC Groningen
  • Mark Ponten (1964): Professor of Microbiology, University Medical Center Utrecht
  • Jan Willem Duvendak (1959): Director of the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS-KNAW) and Professor of Sociology, University of Amsterdam
  • Bernett Elzinga (1970): Professor of Psychopathology and Stress-related Psychopathology, University of Leiden
  • Deanne den Hartog (1969): Professor of Organizational Behavior, University of Amsterdam
  • Ron Herren (1965): Professor of Molecular Imaging at Maastricht University
  • Thea Hillhurst (1961): Professor of Humanities and Reconstruction, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Pancras CW Hogendoorn (1960): Professor of Pathology, Leiden University / LUMC
  • Serge Hogendorn (1971): Anthony Van Leeuwenhoek Professor of Intelligent Urban Mobility, Delft University of Technology
  • Susan Janssen (1963): Professor of Sociology of Media and Culture, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Inger Leemans (1971): Professor of Cultural History, VU Amsterdam, Research Leader NL-Lab Humanities Cluster KNAW
  • Jana Roetova (1974): Professor of Spectroscopy and Stimulation, Radboud University
  • Ton Schumacher (1965): Group Leader, Netherlands Cancer Institute and Special Designated Professor of Immunotechnology, LUMC
  • Eline Slagboom (1960): Professor of Molecular Epidemiology, LUMC
  • Ignas Snelle (1970): Professor of Observational Astrophysics, Leiden University
  • Rineke Verbrugge (1965): Professor of Logic and Perception, University of Groningen
  • Miguel John Versluis (1971): Professor of Classical and Mediterranean Archeology, Leiden University
  • Dolf Weijers (1976): Professor of Biochemistry, University of Wageningen
  • Guido van der Werf (1972): Professor of the Global Carbon Cycle and Land Use, VU Amsterdam
See also  CH3F NL rolls the credits #29 – The Remnant 2: The Forgotten Kingdom (DLC)

Foreign members

  • Connie Arts (1966): Professor of Astronomy, University of Leuven and University of Radboud
  • Vishva Dixit (1956): Vice President of Research, Genentech Inc.
  • Jolanda Jetten (1970): Professor of Social Psychology, University of Queensland, Australia

Get to know the background of each world in The KNAW website.

Written by: National Education Guide