Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

Le Samyn 2022 guide: Route, participants and live broadcast |  GP Samyn

Le Samyn 2022 guide: Route, participants and live broadcast | GP Samyn

In contrast to previous years, the fading sun accompanied the riders in the 52nd edition of Le Samyn. It was enough to keep the runners on board in the tough final.

Tim Merler, with van der Poel as foreman, opened his farming year by leaps and bounds, ahead of Rasmus Teller and Andrea Pasqualon. He was the first Belgian player to win since 2017. These were the first of Merlier’s ten wins in 2021.

Le Samyn is divided into two parts: the ‘flat’ but mainly windy track to the local tours at the Dour and then the various loops with 4 mattresses each (3 cobbled) and the cobbled section at Rue de Belle Vue, at 3 km from the end. The last kilometer in the middle of a turn is a little high.


  • Côte de la Roquette ** (500 m, cobbled)
  • Chemin de Wihéries *** (400 m, cobbled)
  • Côte des Nonettes *** (300 m, cobbled)
  • Côte du Calvaire (asphalt climb 10 km from the finish)

Pistol shots at the Quaregnon will begin at 12.25pm, and finish is scheduled between 5.10pm and 5.40pm.

Tim Merler He comes to defend his title at Le Samyn and thus starts with number 1. It’s been since 1995 (Johan Capiot) that anyone can win two years in a row.

When it comes to sprinting, in particular Fabio Jacobsen The great challenger. The Dutchman has already won 5 times this season, including on Sunday at Korn. Lotto Soudal is looking forward to the young Arnaud de Lee.

See also  ◀ Shania Gores on mental health: “We get referred to professional help too quickly” | house

In terms of the quick guys, we also have to look to former winner Hugo Hofstetter (3rd at Korn) or teammate Daniel McClay (4th at Korn).

If it doesn’t turn into a sprint, then Victor Campinaarts Probably the #1 candidate. Climbing on stones should suit him perfectly and in Omloop he has already proven his excellent form.

This cannot be said of Philip Gilbert, who actually won Le Samyn 14 years ago and also took second place 3 times. Oliver Neesen He’s only at the start of the classic Walloon opening for the second time, but on paper this race should fit him like a glove.

Finally, you still look forward to Scandinavia in Uno-X. If it does indeed turn into a rainy day, there is no doubt that a bang like Rasmus Tiller or Tobias Halland Johannessen will appear.

earlier in the day, woman Their match, but without defending champion Lotte Kubiki. At the start: Letizia Paternoster, Amali Diederiksen, Shereen Van Aneroy, Grace Brown, Emma Norsgaard, Audrey Cordon Ragot.