Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

Lotto Dstny acquisition Logan Currie won the New Zealand time trial title

Lotto Dstny acquisition Logan Currie won the New Zealand time trial title

Thursday, February 8, 2024 at 9:23 am

Logan Currie and Kim Cadzow can call themselves the best time trialists in New Zealand for the year. Currie beat Aaron Gade and Lawrence Pithy in the elite men's time trial, while Katzo won the elite women's time trial ahead of Mikayla Harvey and Kate McCarthy.

New Zealand's best time trial riders gathered in the port city of Timaru on Thursday for the National Time Trial Championships. Among the elite men, many professionals were at the start. They were given a 37.4km time trial course that was uneven at times. It turned out to be a success for Currie, who was also known as a good time tester among the youth.

The 22-year-old rider, who has been competing for Lotto Dstny for the first time this year, rode at an average speed of 46.588 kilometers per hour and clocked a final time of 48:10. Currie was exactly fifteen seconds faster than his former team-mate Aaron Gate, who is now racing in Burgos-PH. In one of the revelations of recent cycle weeks, Groupama-FDJ rider Lawrence Bithy finished third.

Gatso is too strong for competition
Among the elite women, the title – as pointed out earlier – went to Kim Gatsow. No tension. The 22-year-old rider from EF Education-Cannondale, who competed for Jumbo-Wisma last year (then), was known to be in her class. At 24 kilometers, Gatso was two minutes ahead of the runner-up in the day's results – Mikayla Harvey. Kate McCarthy finished third.

See also  Taylor's latest series begins with a warm-up game