Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

Sommige bestanden blijven achter na een reset van Windows 10 en 11

Some files are left after resetting Windows 10 and 11

The Windows reset function is not working properly. Microsoft has confirmed that some OneDrive files are not deleted when you reset a PC With Windows 10 and 11

Windows reset function removes all files and operating system from your desktop or laptop. This makes it possible for the device to be used by several people during its life cycle, without leaving confidential data when the owner changes.

Microsoft confirmed Today that Windows 10 and 11 reset function does not always work properly. The error is in the live version of Windows 11 and the three latest versions of Windows 10. If you use OneDrive to sync local data with the cloud, the local data may be left behind after resetting your PC.

The issue applies to resets across on-premises Windows environments and mobile device management solutions. It doesn’t matter whether you’re scanning your PC locally or from a management tool, some files are left behind.

Danger

This error is dangerous for organizations that use OneDrive and the reset feature to give existing devices to new employees. The older version of Windows that had this issue was published on October 20, 2020 (10 20H2). From then on, local OneDrive files are not always completely deleted. There may be tens of thousands of Windows devices with leftover circulating data.

Correction and turning

Microsoft is currently working on a patch. Its release date is unknown. Until then, you can get around the error by disabling OneDrive before performing the reset. If you had OneDrive running during the reset in the past, Microsoft recommends that Windows.old folder from the reset device. The Windows.old folder It can be found via the Windows Storage Sense function as shown below.

See also  Google is ignoring Windows with AI features for photos