Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

Søren Wernskjöld has been crowned Norwegian time trial champion once again after a nail-biter

Søren Wernskjöld has been crowned Norwegian time trial champion once again after a nail-biter

Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 11:53 am

In Norway, Søren Wærenskjold won the national time trial title for the second year in a row. Last year’s Uno-X Mobility rider won by eight seconds and once again had to do everything he could to keep Tobias Voss behind him this time.

Norway’s best speed riders took on a 27km time trial course in and around Bodø on Thursday. The course was certainly not at pool level and this was also reflected in the average speed of winner Wærenskjold. The 24-year-old Norwegian achieved an average speed of 47.322 kilometers per hour. His final time of 34’14” turned out to be enough for a new Norwegian title.

Although the difference with second-place finisher Tobias Voss in today’s results was very small. The 27-year-old INEOS Grenadiers driver – who has already become the Norwegian 2021 and 2022 World Time Champion and World Champion in 2022 – was just one second away from the time trial title for a third time.

So Wærenskjold was able to breathe a sigh of relief and wear the jersey of the Norwegian champion for the second year in a row. It is not surprising that the former world time trial champion was once again able to achieve the fastest time between the promises. Wærenskjold won the opening time trial of the Baloise Belgium Tour last week.

Bronze for Lakensund
Andreas Lekensund joined Wærenskjold and Foss on stage. The 2019 and 2020 time trial champion had to give up almost a minute to the winner, but that turned out to be good for the bronze medal. It could come as a small boost for Lukensund, after his Uno-X Mobility team did not select him for the upcoming Tour de France.

See also  A disappointing end for Anderlecht: “We must not forget that”

In the women’s category, Katrin Allrod won the Norwegian title. The 29-year-old Uno-X Mobility racer proved she is in a class of her own and won her third national time trial title. Mai Bjorndal Ottestad finished second in just over a minute, while Sigrid Ytterhus-Hogst took bronze.