Cheraw Chronicle

Complete News World

The United States and its allies condemn the repression of the Apple Daily in Hong Kong National

The United States and its allies Germany, Japan and the United Kingdom have openly criticized the actions of the Hong Kong authorities against Apple Daily and its employees.

In a joint statement issued on Saturday by the 21-nation Media Freedom Alliance, governments in Hong Kong condemned the closure of China’s national security law newspaper and the arrest of its owner, Jimmy Lai, and his staff. They expressed “strong concern” about the closure and warned that media censorship could increase if other laws were passed.

“The use of the National Security Act to suppress the press is a dangerous and counterproductive move that undermines the rights and freedoms of Hong Kong’s High Autonomy and Hong Kong people,” the US State Department said in a statement.

It called on Hong Kong and Chinese authorities to support press freedom “in accordance with China’s international legal obligations.”

The pro-democracy Apple Daily published its latest issue on June 24. People in Hong Kong protested against government repression and rushed to buy it. The newspaper was forced to stop publishing after its bank accounts were frozen and senior editors arrested for violating Hong Kong’s National Security Act.

The Apple Daily, which has exposed the hidden wealth of senior leaders of the Chinese Communist Party and the unethical practices of Hong Kong officials, has built a reputation for rigorous investigations over the past 26 years. He is best known for providing intricate reports and photos on entertainment, crime and celebrity gossip.

Lay, 73, was jailed on charges of supporting pro-democracy struggles. His personal assets, including shares of Next Digital Limited, were frozen.

See also  Reinforced, the Blues crush the All Blacks and mark their territory two years before the World Cup

The report was signed on Saturday by Australia, Austria, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Slovakia, Switzerland and the City. United Kingdom. And the United States


© 2021 Visit Bloomberg LP Tribune Content Company, LLC.