Last updated: December 04. 2013 1:43PM - 863 Views
Karen Kissiah Staff Writer

Taylor Chestnut
Taylor Chestnut
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The 37th annual contest Christmas Card Contest gathered more than 600 entries and produced an overflowing crowd Dec. 3 in the Mary G. Burr Art Gallery of the Cheraw Community Center.

The cards will remain on display in the gallery until the end of December.

Taylor Chestnut of Cheraw, a junior high school student at the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, won Best in Show for the 2013 Christmas Card Contest sponsored by the Cheraw Arts Commission.

Taylor, who was not present for the award ceremony, has been entering this competition since she was in the third grade, according to her grandmother, Nancy Chestnut.

“Art is her thing. She has placed just about every year,” said Chestnut.

Taylor is the daughter of Jason and Elizabeth Chestnut of Cheraw, and the granddaughter of Lee and Nancy Chestnut, and Diane Vaughn.

The grand prize winner in the kindergarten through sixth grade category is Belle Bollman, a sixth grade student at Long Middle School.

The grand prize winner in the seventh through twelfth grade category is Eunique Dials, a junior at Cheraw High School.

Contest winners for the kindergarten classes include Aleeyah Sellers, 1st place; Natalee Batchelor, 2nd; Nathan Ainsworth, 3rd; Jackson Alexander, honorable mention; and Allie Huggins, honorable mention.

First grade winners are Jayne Simmons, 1st place; Madison Harpe, 2nd; Emily Welch, 3rd; and Kennedy Miller, honorable mention.

Second grade winners are Eva Goddard, 1st; Jewel Lane, 2nd; Noemi Costea, 3rd; and Madison Hansen, honorable mention.

Third grade winners are Sawyer Becker, 1st place; Elizabeth Hydrick, 2nd place; Landon McCune, 3rd place; Juliana Palmera, honorable mention; and Jodi O’Neal, honorable mention.

Fourth grade winners are Mallorie Rollings, 1st place; Christian Bollman, 2nd place; Allen Jefferson, 3rd, place; and Sydney Gulledge, honorable mention.

Fifth grade winners are Haley Reeves, 1st place; Kasey Bowen, 2nd place; Aubreigh Davis, 3rd place; Elissa Haire, honorable mention; and Chloe McLeod, honorable mention.

Sixth grade winners are Bailey McCune, 1st place; Kylar Tipton, 2nd place; Jasmine Thomas, 3rd place; Andy Beck, honorable mention; Cooper Thurman, honorable mention; and William Drake, honorable mention.

Seventh grade winners are Alexis McLain, 1st place; Emily Beck, 2nd place, Dyjon Harrighton, 3rd place; James Whitaker, honorable mention; and Breanna Treadaway, honorable mention.

Eighth grade winners are Victor Ruan, 1st place; Lyndon Sterrett, 2nd place; Alonyia Ellison-Cash, 3rd place; Justin Leviner, honorable mention; Sarah Hill, honorable mention; and Wade Lofton, honorable mention.

Ninth grade winners are London Scott, 1st place; Mylene Gonzales, 2nd place; Gracyn Reihl, 3rd place; Caleb Atkinson, honorable mention, and Mary Hatcher, honorable mention.

Tenth grade winners are Deshawn Freeman, 1st place; Kaylee Wallace, 2nd place; Gracen Jones, 3rd place; Maquitta Butler, honorable mention; Sallie McLeod, honorable mention; and Victoria Harpe, honorable mention.

Eleventh grade winners are Brianna Davis, 1st place; Dakota Lee, 2nd place; Krystin Tolson, 3rd place; Damien Hinson, honorable mention; Karina Esquivel, honorable mention; and Megan McKenzie, honorable mention.

Twelfth grade winners are Haley Pierce, 1st place; Breana Brown, 2nd place; Savannah McCale, 3rd place; Timeka Backman, honorable mention; and Elizabeth Lane, honorable mention.

— Staff Writer Karen Kissiah can be reached by calling 843-537-5261, or by email at kkissiah@civitasmedia.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Cheraw Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com